Day 27: Leaving the Rockies

Today I rode from the tiny town of Westcliffe (pop. 451) up through the Wet Mountains and down into Pueblo Colorado (pop. 102,000). Another gorgeous, blue-sky, sunshine day in Colorado!

Saying Good-bye to the Rockies

I crossed my last mountain summit today and was rewarded with a jaw-dropping downhill as I said good-bye to the Rocky Mountains. I descended from 9,000 feet to 5,000 feet in 10 miles, on the way down, poignantly riding past the remnants of a small forest fire. A breathtaking downhill, but a bittersweet farewell to one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

Mike, the King of the Pueblo Post Office

When I made it to Pueblo, we headed right for the Midtown Post Office to pick up the set of back-up maps for Kansas and Missouri. Mike had been holding them for us all week and promised to have them delivered to the main post office if we did not make it to Pueblo before his location closed. While waiting in line, I watched Mike dance with each customer that approached the counter. When it was our turn, all I said was “Ann from LifeMoxie” and he practically jumped out of his seat to get our maps. When I asked him what he loves about his job, he said, “People.” Enough said. Thank you, Mike!

Celebrating in Denver with April

Tomorrow is a day off from riding, so I headed up to Denver to see my wonderful friend April and her family (pictured here with her daughter Paige). As soon as I made it to Pueblo, I put the bike in the RV and we drove straight north from Pueblo (What a strange feeling to be driving on the highway after 4 weeks of riding a bike!) After dropping Justin at his aunt’s in Colorado Springs, I headed up to Denver to enjoy dinner with April. I devoured my favorite salad at the Cherry Creek Grill with a nice big glass of red wine to celebrate making it over the Rockies.

Day 27 Stats

Day 27 miles: 57.04

Total mileage: 1,717.64

Day 27 ascent: 2,080 ft

Total interviews: 44

Road kill count: 188 (I’m starting to smell dead things before I even see them… a new talent I never knew I had, nor needed)

Destination for Day 28: a day off in Denver with friends, then back to Pueblo to start heading to Kansas on Sunday morning

About moxieride

I'm the Founder of LifeMoxie and I'm riding my bicycle across the country this summer to celebrate people who love their jobs and to celebrate the moxie managers who help us make work matter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 27: Leaving the Rockies

  1. Lois says:

    Dear Ann, I don’t know if you remember me, I’m a patient/client of Steve’s at True Physical Therapy. I am so proud of you and your accomplishments! Wow! Lately, as I ride my bicycle, I have channeled your trip and I’m glad to send you good vibes. I hope you enjoyed Pueblo, CO, a beauty of a little town! Be safe and enjoy the ride!

    Lois

Leave a Reply

