Meet the RV-Driving, Camera-Toting, PB&J-Making Justin Flocco

While I’ve always loved with the idea of riding my bike across the country; I’ve always loathed the idea of carrying 3-months of clothes and supplies on my bike as I do it, especially up the mountains.

My Cousin Steve did it and my first biking partner Steven Schulman did it. They carried their stuff in panniers and then they camped each night. And there were no cell phones, email, or Facebook when they made this trek. They found pay phones and mailed postcards. I am in awe of both of them.

Me? I want the Sherpa experience. I want someone to carry everything for me so all I have to do is bike.

Enter the RV, my Sherpa. A 30-foot SAG wagon (support and gear) carrying clothes, supplies, tools, food, an extra bike, and the LifeMoxie books that I’m going to be distributing along the route.

Who will drive the RV?
I described my ideal driver as follows: someone who can check out of their life for 11 weeks, someone who wants to see the country and partake in an interesting adventure, and someone who believes in the Moxie Ride and its battle cry (finding people who love their jobs).

An additional requirement… hold the video camera
Besides being willing to drive an RV and support my adventure for 11 weeks, I need this person to help me document the adventure on video. I was envisioning buying a flip camera to capture the interviews of the job-loving people we meet along the way. I was also envisioning the RV driver would take photographs at the same time.

Not an insignificant request.
Take 11 weeks off from your life to drive an RV across country and support a random person on a bicycle while also capturing 100 interviews on a video camera and taking pictures every day. Not an insignificant request.

So I called my sister.

Darcy knows people. I swear she spends her days just talking to people. She knows everyone you would ever need to know. And of course, she knew just the person to call to fulfill my tall order – her friend’s son.

Meet Justin
Darcy recruited Justin, a 23-year-old college graduate who recently moved out of his parents’ house into his first apartment (with 7 other guys in Lincoln Park). Justin majored in digital cinema (who knew?!), and does not have a job because….. ready for this? ….. he launched his very own production company! He is a videographer (with a real video camera – no fly-by-night flip cam for us!) specializing in creating documentaries and he’s euphoric about creating a documentary about people who love their jobs.

On top of all that, Justin is an avid cyclist, he’s elated about the adventure, he loves the mission of the Moxie Ride (he’s already read the LifeMoxie book!), and he is unconcerned about calling the RV “home” for 11 weeks!

Here is a picture of Justin with his moxie-capturing camera!

The Documentary
I once saw a bumper sticker that read: “I hate my job.” And Drew Carey once joked: “Oh, you hate your job? Why didn’t you say so? There’s a support group for that. It’s called EVERYBODY, and they meet at the bar.”

People who hate their jobs are dominating the scene. I want to give the other side a voice. So we’re on a quest to find people who LOVE their jobs. We’re going to interview over 100 people in cities across the country and find out why they love their jobs.

Superhero Capes, Starbucks, and PB&J Sandwiches
If driving the RV and capturing the adventure in a documentary and in photographs were not enough, Justin will be responsible for three other important tasks each day:

(1) navigating our route around Walmarts and KOA campgrounds,
(2) finding me a Starbucks, and
(3) making my PB&J sandwiches

And did I mention the superhero cape? Each of our LifeMoxie books has a superhero-themed cover because moxie is all about being a superhero. So, easygoing Justin agreed to wear a superhero cape every day. What a trooper.

One month and counting….

About moxieride

I'm the Founder of LifeMoxie and I'm riding my bicycle across the country this summer to celebrate people who love their jobs and to celebrate the moxie managers who help us make work matter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

