When it’s 22 degrees, do I answer to my commitments or to my feelings?

When the themometer read 22 degrees at 5:30 this morning, I had to ask: should I answer to my commitments or to my feelings?

felt like staying in my warm bed. But I committed to riding my bike across the country in about 10 weeks.

Testing my commitment
Last fall, I brazenly declared that I could handle riding in weather as cold as 35 degrees given enough layers. But this morning’s 22 degrees was about to test my commitment. I needed to ride but I wanted it to be warmer.

Do I wait until tomorrow to ride? What if it rains tomorrow? Worse yet, what if it snows? What if this is all I get for a few days?

This made me wonder. Where else am I siding with my feelings at the expense of big goals? How often do I make excuses when I don’t feel like doing something? It’s too cold. It’s too hot. I’m too tired. I’m too busy.  

So I put on 5 layers and away we went…
My biking buddy Chuck has been riding with me for almost a year, and while he hasn’t admitted it, I think he has made his own commitment to support me in training for the ride. So when I texted him at 5:30: “I’m in!” he didn’t answer to his feelings of wanting to stay in his warm bed. He answered to his commitment and met me at 6am for our usual ride to the ocean.

And it was cold. It was so cold, the ground was covered with frost. It was so cold, snot frosted on my face mask. It was so cold, the water in my water bottle froze as we rode!

But we were rewarded with the sunrise
The air was fresh, barely a breeze. The sky was pink, not a cloud to be seen. As soon as we made it to our turn-around spot at the ocean, the sun broke through the horizon, as if it was waiting for us to arrive. We were rewarded with the most gorgeous sunrise.

I can’t believe I almost missed this, all because I didn’t feel like being cold! My feelings and I are no longer friends. From now on, I’m only talking to my commitments.

Our sunrise reward at the ocean

About moxieride

I'm the Founder of LifeMoxie and I'm riding my bicycle across the country this summer to celebrate people who love their jobs and to celebrate the moxie managers who help us make work matter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When it’s 22 degrees, do I answer to my commitments or to my feelings?

  1. Sheri Jeavons says:

    OMG. It is has been one full week and I have thought of you often but finally tonight I sat down to see how you are doing. OK you are officially crazy. Snow, stiches, sun, sleet…yup now I know you have the spirit and drive of ten incredible women! I pray for you every night for a safe journey filled with good fortune, good food and good weather! Well the weather thing did not even let you get out of CA. I will pray much harder for better weather. Miss you and will keep in touch!

Leave a Reply

