No time for fairweather biking

With less than 3 months to the launch of The Moxie Ride, I don’t have time to wait for this ugly East Coast weather to improve to get on my bike.

But I’m a fairweather biker. I hate being cold and cold is all we’ve got these days on this coast. So I’ve learned to bike in layers. When it’s between 25-35 degrees, I can wear 5 layers on top and 3 layers on the bottom and enjoy a 20-30 mile ride.

Now the only thing that will stop me is big chunks of white stuff coming down from the sky!

This winter I have come to rely on www.weather.com to find bike-able days. Thanks to its hour-by-hour weather forecasts, I knew Friday promised to be gorgeous. So I rallied the troops for a 23-mile ride to the ocean at 6:45am. It was 45 degrees and we were giddy!

But Saturday’s 50-mile-an-hour winds reminded me that we are still in February, so no biking. It’s Sunday and I had high hopes for a ride this morning, but the windchill temperature was 7 degrees. So we moved our ride to the afternoon and were rewarded with another gorgeous 23-mile ride to the ocean.

I just checked weather.com and wouldn’t you know it, tomorrow and Tuesday they are predicting 1-2 inches of snow and rain each day! ugh. So back to the gym for now to swim and lift. But I’m looking forward to biking on Wed and Thurs, when the sun is promising to shine again.

This ridiculous winter has taught me a few important lessons that I will apply to The Moxie Ride and to the rest of my life: (1) always take advantage of the sun, (2) never assume it will shine tomorrow, (3) bad weather is just a matter of interpretation, (4) never wait for perfect conditions to execute, and (5) sometimes you just need to add a few layers.

About moxieride

I'm the Founder of LifeMoxie and I'm riding my bicycle across the country this summer to celebrate people who love their jobs and to celebrate the moxie managers who help us make work matter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No time for fairweather biking

  1. Cindy says:

    I love this blog it is such a breathe of fresh air.

Leave a Reply

